Skip to content
Home » Major Rivers of India

Major Rivers of India

    Rate this post

    90 percent of India’s rivers discharge their water into the Bay of Bengal and reset in the Arabian Sea. So, let’s see some Major Rivers Of India.

    The drainage systems flowing into the Arabian and the Bay of Bengal are separated by a water divide extending approximately along the Western Ghats, Aravalli, and Yamuna Sutlej divide.

    Let’s see how many Name, Source, and fall into.

    S. No Name Originates form Falls Into
    1. Ganges Combined Sources Bay of Bengal
    2. Sutlej Mansarovar Rakas Lakes Cheneb
    3. Indus Near Mansarover Lake Arabian
    4. Ravi Kull Hills near Rohtang Pass Chenab
    5. Beas Near Rohit Pass Sulitej
    6. Jhelum Verinag in Kashmir Chenab
    7. Yamuna Yamunotri Ganga
    8. Chambal Singar Chouri Peak, Vindhyan escarpment Yamuna
    9. Ghaghara Mastsatung Glacier Ganga
    10. Kosi Near Gosain Dham Peak Ganga
    11. Betwa Vindhyanchal Yamuna
    12. Son Amarkantak Ganga
    13. Brahmaputra Near Mansarovar Lake Bay of Bengal
    14. Narmada Amarkantak Gulf of Khambat
    15. Tapit Brtul District in Madhya Pradesh Gulf of Khambat
    16. Mahanadi Raipur District in Chhattissgarh Bay of Bengal
    17. Luni Aravalli Rann of Kachchh
    18. Ghaggar Himalayas Near Fatehabad
    19. Sabarmti Mewar hill, Aravallis Gulf of Khambat
    20 Krishna Western Ghats Bay of Bengal
    21. Godavari Nasik district in Maharashtra Bay of Bengal
    22. Cauveri Brahmagir Range of Western Ghats Bay of Bengal
    23. Tungabhadra Western Ghats Krishna

    Some Facts:

    • The rivers in India play an important role in the lives of the people.
    • The rivers also have an important role in Hindu Religion and are considered holy by many Hindus in the country. Seven major rivers along with their numerous tributaries make up the river system of India.
    • All major rivers of India originate from one of the following main watersheds: Aravalli range Himalaya and Karakoram ranges Sahyadri or Western Ghats in western India Vindhya and Satpura ranges and Chotanagpur plateau in central India Himalayan glaciers in the Indian subcontinent are broadly divided into the three river basins, namely the Indus, Ganga and Brahmaputra.
    • Second Largest of Ganga’s southern tributaries Gandak – 652 kilometres (405 mi) Starts from Nepal Kosi – 625 kilometres (388 mi) Starts from Nepal Brahmaputra – 3,969 kilometres (2,466 mi) Merges with Ganga to form the grand river (but short in length) – Padma in Bangladesh.
    • By now, flow velocity of both rivers slow down to considerable extent as they are in plains now.
    • The Indus is 3,249 kilometres (2,019 mi) long.


    India States and Capital

    Country, Capital, and their Currency

    Indian Army Commands

    KGF: Chapter-2 Release

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *