Skip to content
Home » 2023 Bharat Ratna Award Winners List

2023 Bharat Ratna Award Winners List

Bharat Ratna Award Winners

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award in India. The first award was given in 1954. The number of annual awards is limited to three people per year. It is awarded in recognition of any exceptional service/ performance of high order in any field. And also it is not necessary that Bharat Ratna is given every year.

Know What is Bharat Ratna?

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honor conferred for exceptional service towards any field of human endeavor, without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex. No award is given in 2020 and 2021. The award does not carry any monetary benefits, however there several special entitlements which include: The medallion and miniature A Sanad (certificate) signed by the President of India. The award was started by former President Dr. Rajendra Prasad on January 2, 1954.

Bharat Ratna Awardees List (1954-2021)

S. NoWinners NameYear
1.Parnab Mukherjee2019
2.Bhupen Hazarika2019
3.Nanaji Deshmukh2019
4.Madan Mohan Malaviya2015
5.Atal Bihari Vajpayee2015
6.Sachin Tendulkar2014
7.C.N.R. Rao2014
8.Pandit Bhimsen Joshi2008
9.Lata Mangeshkar2001
10.Ustad Bismillah Khan2001
11.Prof. Amartya Sen1999
12.Lokpriya Gopinath Narayan1999
13.Loknayak Jayprakash Narayan1999
14.Pandit Ravi Shankar1999
15.Chidambaram Subramaniam1998
16.Madurai Shanmukhavadivu Subbulakshmi1998
17.Dr. Abul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam1997
18.Aruna Assaf Ali1997
19.Gulzari Lal Nanda1997
20.Jahangir Ratanji Dadabhai Tata1992
21.Maulana Abul Kalam Azad1992
22.Satyajit Ray1992
23.Morarji Desai1991
24.Rajiv Gandhi1991
25.Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel1991
26.Dr. B.R Ambedkar1990
27.Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela1990
28.Marudur Gopalan Ramchandran1988
29.Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan1987
30.Acharya Vinoba Bhave1983
31.Mother Teresa1980
32.Kumaraswamy Kamraj1976
33.Varahagiri Venkata Giri1975
34.Indira Gandhi1971
35.Lal Bahadur Shastri1966
36.Dr. Pandurang Vaman Kane1963
37.Dr. Zakir Hussain1963
38.Dr. Rajendra Prasad1962
39.Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy1961
40.Purushottam Das Tandon1961
41.Dr. Dhonde Keshav Karve1958
42.Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant1957
43.Dr. Bhagwan Das1955
44.Jawaharlal Nehru1955
45.Dr. M Vivesvaraya1955
46.Chakravarti Rajagopalachari1954
47.Dr. Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman1954
48.Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan1954

General Info of Bharat Ratna

There is no formal provision that Bharat Ratna Awardees should be Indian citizens. It has been awarded to a naturalised Indian citizen. Mother Teresa in 1980, and to two non-Indians, Abdul Ghaffar Khan of Pakistan in 1987 and the former South African president Nelson Mandela in 1990. The original 1954 specifications of the award was a circle made of gold. 1+3⁄8 inches (35 mm) in diameter with a centred sun burst design on the obverse side. The text “Bharat Ratna”, in Devanagari Script, is inscribed on the upper edge in silver gilt with a wreath set along on the lower edge. A platinum State Emblem of India was placed in the center of the reverse side with the national motto, “Satyameva Jayate” in Devanagari Script.
A year later, the design was modified. The current medal is in the shape of a peepal leaf, approximately 2+5⁄16 inches (59 mm) long, 1+7⁄8 inches (48 mm) wide and 1⁄8 inch (3.2 mm) thick and rimmed in platinum.


Ques: Who is the first Bharat Ratna Winner?
Ans: Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan won the first Bharat Ratna in 1954.

Ques: Who received Bharat Ratna in 2019?
Ans: Parnab Mukherjee, Bhupen Hazarika and Nanaji Deshmukh won Bharat Ratna in 2019.

Ques: How many bharat ratna can be given in a year?
Ans: Maximum of three Bharat Ratna award is given in a year.

Ques: Who is the youngest Bharat Ratna Awardee?
Sachin Tendulkar in 2014 is the youngest Bharat Ratna Awardee.

Ques: How many people have received Bharat Ratna till now?
A total of 48 people has been awarded Rharat Ratna.

For Competitive Exam Preparation read more

Important towns on the river

Solar System Facts

The nickname of Important Places in India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *