Skip to content
Home » Indian Railways Facts and Headquarters – भारतीय रेल के रोचक तथ्य

Indian Railways Facts and Headquarters – भारतीय रेल के रोचक तथ्य

    Rate this post

    Railway Transport of India

    Railway transport is an important mode of the conveyance of people and goods. Here are some Indian Railways Facts:

    Indian Railways (IR) is the primary operator of rail operations throughout the country a state-owned organization of the Ministry of Railways, which historically had its government budget.

    Railways Facts

    • Between 2019 and 2020, 22.15 million passengers used the Indian Railways network daily. In the same period, 3.32 million metric tons were on the IR network.
    • Indian Railway system is the second largest in Asia and the fourth largest in the world.
    • The longest railway platform in India is now Gorakhpur with a stretch of around 1.3 km.
    • The first train ran in India between Bombay and Thane, a stretch of 34 km on 16th April 1853.
    • The second train ran between Howrah and Hooghly in 1854.
    • The first electric train in India was Deccan Queen. It was introduced in 1929 between Bombay and Poona
    • The longest train route is ‘Vivek Express’ from Dibrugarh in Assam to Kanyakumari in Tamil Nadu. It covers a distance of 4273 km (2655 miles)
    • The first Metro train was introduced in Kolkata (West Bengal) on 24th October 1984. The two stations connected were Dumdum and Belgachhia.
    • In 1990, Konkan Railway has been started between Goa, Maharastra, and Karnataka.
    • Delhi metro rail was started in 2002 on 25th December between Shahdra and Tees Hazari.
    • The rapid metro train has been started in Gurgaon (Haryana) on 14th November 2013.
    • Vande Bharat Express also known as Train 18, is an Indian semi-high-speed electric (India’s fastest train) train made by Integral Coach Factory, Chennai, under the make in India Programme.
    • Eastern Peripheral Expressway or Kundli-Ghaziabad-Palwal Expressway is a 6-lane expressway passing through the states of Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.
    • India’s longest greenfield 6-lane expressway named as Agra-Lucknow expressway has been inaugurated in Utter Pradesh.

    Indian Railways Zones and Headquarters

    S. NoRailway ZoneHeadquarters
    1.CentralMumbai (CST)
    3.NorthernNew Delhi
    5.North-East FrontierMaligoan-Guwahati
    7.South CentralSecunderabad
    9.WesternMumbai Churchgate
    8.East CoastBhubaneshwar
    9.East CentralHajipur
    13.West CentralJabalpur
    14.South-East CentralBilashpur
    15.Kolkata MetroKolkata
    16.South Coast RailwayVisakhapatnam

    Indian Railways Facts Related

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *